Review: Heroine Complex

Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn is a terrific book: fast-paced, clever, and, most of all, funny. It stars Evie Tanaka as a personal assistant to a superhero, Aveda Jupiter. As you might expect, Aveda is rather high-maintenance.

The first thing that drew me to the book in the first place was the write-up on the back which mentioned killer, demon possessed cupcakes. What a great, rollicking way to showcase both the tone of the book and the action pieces–which seemed quite well done (note: while I like action movies, I have no experience in this area). The dialogue is snappy and fast-paced. Best of all, the characters can be told apart from the dialogue alone.

The second thing that attracted me was the cover, which features both main characters and the cupcakes in a comic-book inspired way. Since the book covers comic books from a more realistic perspective (how does one get frosting out of a superhero costume?), the cover was perfect.

I did predict a few things before the book revealed them, but that’s not unusual for me. However, even though I had figured them out didn’t diminish my enjoyment of the book, which I sped through.

I enjoyed this book and am putting her other book on my shopping list. I’m hoping that this book does well enough that we can spend more time with Evie and the other great characters.

Leave a Reply

