Review–The Eye of Zoltar

The Eye of Zoltar is Jasper Fforde’s third book in the Chronicles of Kazam series. When I saw this title on my library’s site, I had to get it, having enjoyed the previous entries immensely. This is a book meant for younger readers, but I never let that stop me from reading a good book, and I quite enjoyed Fforde’s Thursday Next series. I’ve never understood the “but it’s for children”/ “but it’s YA” thing. I think that well-written books are well-written, no matter if I’m the intended audience or not.

This book, like the others in the series, is delightful–clever and funny, with suspense and characters to care about. Even though Jennifer Strange is a teenager, I want to be her when I grow up. The plot bops along with great energy, and just as I’d almost forgotten a plot strand or a character, it was skillfully dropped back in.

The world that Fforde has created is charming and full of peril (sorry, I’ve just rewatched Monty Python and the Holy Grail again. There’s lots of peril.), a fantasy world complete with magic, fantastic beasts (including a quarkbeast (he says “quark”!)), and mythical lands (like Cornwall!). The world is fully realized and has rules that are consistent and make sense.

Go forth and read this series. And if you like it (or if you like literature), read the Thursday Next books.

What’s the last “kids” book that you enjoyed?

Leave a Reply

