Ack! Unexpected Dental Work!

Last night, as I was eating macaroni and cheese, I felt something give. Sure enough, the crown that I had put in September of 2013 cracked in half. I question the fitness of any dental appliance that can’t stand up to cooked pasta. I should have known when the dentist said that crowns were good for at least ten years that didn’t apply to my teeth.

I am glad that the dental office could fit me in today (this happened about five last night), but I really, truly wish it weren’t happening at all. I dislike going to the dentist. I like dentists and hygienists and assistants and the work they do; I like modern dentistry.  However, I REALLY don’t like people poking around in my mouth. I also do not approve of the fact that this (expletive deleted)  crown cost over a thousand dollars to make and put in and it’s already broken. I don’t make much money at all, and I JUST got done paying of the crown, so I am not happy.

I’m already an anxious person (the filling that failed that lead to the root canal that lead to the crown was probably done in by grinding my teeth), and I fear the dentist, so this is a double whammy to my stress levels. I’m the person who has to have nitrous to have my teeth cleaned, so I’m a very unhappy camper right now–why the blog post is late.

What I’m hoping for is that the crown will be replaced no charge and that it will be an easy process. My inner always cynical voice is laughing at that.

Leave a Reply

