Review–Mad Max: Fury Road

I’d read a lot of the articles about the filming of Fury Road because the film makers seemed to be putting a lot of thought into the production, and I’ve become increasingly interested in productions with practical effects (not that I don’t enjoy CGI). Then I read that it had some interesting ideas about men and women and was even being praised as feminist. This seemed like an interesting concept, so I watched it, even though I hadn’t see any of the movies before it.

Oh my word. If you are looking for the most beautifully filmed, frequently nihilistic, post-apocalyptic movie I think I’ve ever seen, watch Fury Road. There were parts that were so gorgeous that my brain just said “ooh.” Some of the compositions were paintings of light and shadow and colors. It was lovely.

The action was not only inventive, but there was absolutely no time that I didn’t know who was in shot, what was happening or why. So many modern action films have so many jump cuts, so much shaky-cam, and are filmed in such poor lighting and conditions (and without context) that they mean nothing because the viewer doesn’t know what’s happening (If you haven’t watched CinemaSins‘ take on action, do your self a favor and see them). Fury Road, however, centered the action in the shot (IMDB had an entry in the trivia section on this if you’re interested). It helps that the character design is unique for each named character (the WarBoys are supposed to look alike!).

Another thing that I really enjoyed was that sometime during the beginning of the chase I thought “This is bananas!” It continued to be. Although I know that it was all carefully planned, it had the feeling of a bull session with all creative, intelligent people whose motto was “Sure! Why not?” Have people on poles bending into vehicles to take people? Sure, why not? Have exploding javelins? Sure! Generations of young men raised to worship death and sacrifice for their eminently corrupt and terrible dictator who, before kamikaze strikes spray silver into their mouths? Why not?

I’d stayed away from the Mad Max series before because I assumed that it was dark and ugly. This incarnation, however, was bright, lovely and focused on beautiful destruction.

What do you think? Better then its predecessors? Worse? Missing something? Know something cool about the production? Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

