Review “Chupacabra’s Song”

Jim C. Hines is one of my favorite authors, so when I saw that he was self-publishing a short story, Chupacabra’s Song, set in his popular Libromancer’s world, I bought it immediately.

I don’t think you have to have read the other novels in the series to enjoy this work, but it adds another layer if you have, since this the protagonist of “Chupacabra’s Song” is one of the side characters in the novels, an autistic woman named Nicola Pallas who is a powerful magician in her own right. This story focuses on when she was fourteen and thought she was the only magic user in the world.

The story is tight, tense, and interesting. If you are a big ol’ softy like I am, you many find yourself tearing up at parts. Since it’s a short story, if I say much more, I will have spoiled it entirely.

The fourth (and final–sob!) of the Libromancer books, Revisionary comes out February 2, so you might want to catch up on the earlier books in time to read the new one–I’ve already pre-ordered it and I am eagerly awaiting its arrival.

Leave a Reply

