Review–Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong is his third book. I LOVED John Dies at the End and This Book is Full of Spiders but I was trepidacious about this new one because it wasn’t the continuation of the first two books (which I loved. Did I mention that?).

I shouldn’t have worried. I began reading Futuristic Violence and didn’t do a whole lot else. Although it’s almost 400 pages, I whipped through it at supersonic speed. Yes, it’s violent (see title). And frequently juvenile. And it certainly doesn’t shy away from gross outs and naughty language. But it was fantastic.

Although, I wouldn’t be a pendant if I didn’t point out that David Wong has a MAJOR comma splice addiction (I do not know how he has been a professional writer this long without some editor beating this habit out of him. With a stick. Covered in bees). And there are a few moments where the things happening to the characters, especially the main one, made me cringe.

But it’s soooooo good. It’s funny. And awesome. The man can write a female protagonist, something that I think he was trying out here.

If you like the Evil Dead franchise or things like it, you’ll probably enjoy this book. After you’ve read John Dies see the movie–it’s good fun as well. (Then maybe someone will make Spiders and Violence into movies too!)

Leave a Reply

